Charleston, WV Table Tennis

WV State Open


by Ryan Robinson

February 22nd 2014 the Charleston Table Tennis Club hosted the 2014 WV State Championship Table Tennis Tournament.  Thirty five players from around the State arrived at the North Charleston REC Center to compete in 4 events and to crown a new singles and doubles State Champion.  Four former State Singles Champions also competed during the day’s events:  Mark Meade (2013), Jay Nelson (1986, 1987, 1994, 1995), Steve Emmons (1991, 1992) and Roy Emmons (1997).  USATT Hall of Famer and former WV State Champion (1984) Dick Evans even made a brief cameo Saturday afternoon.


Fifteen players competed for the State Singles Title.  The competitors were divided into 2 round robin groups and out of each group 3 players advanced to the elimination round.  Competition was fierce no one managed to escape unblemished.  Igor Kappel (1601) won group 1 by pulling of a huge upset of Steve Emmons (2011) in the first match of the day.  Emmons and Mike Corica also advanced out of group 1.  Group 2 was even more competitive it finished in a 3-way tie.   Allen Tinio, Ryan Robinson and Jonathon Lamp all finished with a 5-2 record and Tinio won the tie breaker since he beat both Lamp and Robinson in round robin play.

Quarter finals:  Emmons def Lamp 3-1, Robinson def Corica 3-1

Semi Finals:  Emmons def Tinio 3-0 and Robinson def Kappel 3-2 in a five game deuce laden thriller

After squeaking by Kappel in the Semi finals Robinson was completely handled by Emmons in the finals (11-7, 11-6, and 11-2).  The result was Steve Emmons who finished the day 8-1 captured his 3rd State Championship, 22 years after his second.  Welcome back Steve and please do not stay away so long next time.


Eight Players competed for the A Division Title in a giant round robin event.  Just like the Open event no player was able to make it through the field undefeated.  Even more interesting only 1 of the top 3 seeds managed to finish above fourth place.

1st Jason Workman (6-1), 2nd Jason Fuller (5-2) and 3rd Gretchen Workman (4-3).


Ten players competed for the B Division Title in a round robin event.  Unlike the other 2 events, B Division was dominated by one player.  Wes Blake improved his rating over 100pts as he rolled through the field only dropping 1 game on his way to a perfect 9-0 record.

1st Wes Blake (9-0), 2nd Dustin McClung (8-1) and 3rd Ranjit Sabba (7-2).


Unfortunately due to time constraints we were forced to reduce the doubles tournament to 9 team ratings seeded single elimination event.  Jay Nelson and Joey Mencias defeated Steve and Roy Emmons 3-0 in the final match of the day to capture the State Title.

The CTTC wants to thank all the participants and spectators that turned out for the event and we look forward to hosting this event again next year.